1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hey Guest Voting is now open for our Spooky Halloween Photo Competition, please vote now here Thanks to everyone that entered you raised an amazing £18 for piggies in care at TEAS Dental Sanctuary!

Swollen neck!

Discussion in 'Health & Illness' started by Stinkerbell, Oct 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stinkerbell

Stinkerbell New Member

Hi, I don't know if anyone can help?

Our 5-6month old piggie Fawn seems to have a very swollen neck, I noticed this afternoon. She was still running around in her usual loony way and has eaten her dinner fine this evening. Should I be worried?

I'm still new to all this, we've only kept pigs since July so I'm not sure when to really worry/panic! They seem so fragile when things go wrong!

She let me and my husband examine her earlier and although she nibbled to be left alone after a few mins she didn't seem in any distress.

Any ideas?

Many thanks, Sarah

2. Toffeewoffee

Senior Guinea Pig

Can you post a picture? Is there any lumps or does it seem more like fat?

3. piggyfan

piggyfan *Forum Photo Guru*
    Forum Donator 2014/15

I would make an appointment with a vet and have it checked out as soon as possible.

4. Amanda1801

Senior Guinea Pig

Is it localised to one area like the top or the bottom or one side, or is it large all the way around (if that makes sense)?

Does it feel hard or fluidy?

Does she appear to be in any pain or discomfort?

5. Stinkerbell

Stinkerbell New Member

Hi,

it looks like fat more than an actual lump and it goes all the way round the bottom part of her neck (yes that makes sense!) I don't think it would look like anything if I posted a pic as it just looks as though she has a double chin! It kind of looks to me like she's got swollen glands?

I will obviously book an appointment with the vet tomorrow but by the time I saw it today I couldn't.