A Bit About Switchboards

VickiA

Staff member
Reaction score
I'm no expert or historian - so this thread isn't intended to be particularly a fully fact checked piece - more a bit about my own experience of volunteering for a local gay and lesbian switchboard in the 1980s.

Switchboard itself About us : Switchboard is one of the longest running listening services for LGBT+ people. It was founded in 1974 and started life as the London Lesbian and Gay Switchboard. Most towns/cities had their own local switchboard and in the 1980s, long before the advent of the internet and all the resource available today, these were seen as the "go to" resource for information and advice on gender, sexuality, sexual health or just to find a kindred spirit and sense of community.

Switchboards were (and still are) manned by an army of volunteers trained to listen without judging, and to offer a safe space to talk about issues. Volunteers are sought who are non-judgmental, inclusive, empathetic, and empowering. Calls are confidential and move at the pace of the caller, not the listener. No call ends until the caller decides it has come to an end. It's all about support.

VickiA

Staff member
Reaction score
In the 1980s I attended a redbrick university in a small city with a limited gay scene that centred largely around the university. Our local switchboard was manned largely by volunteers from the university. Once a week (every Thursday) the limited gay scene outside the university moved to a couple of bars and one nightclub. So there was always a shortage of volunteers to man the city's Gay Switchboard (as it was then called) on Thursday nights.