Broadband help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,993
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Help!

After a while it turns itself off (connection just goes)! I have the 'always on' setting and 'turn off when requested', but it hasn't changed.

It's only recently that it has started to do this. Would a virus affect it do you think? Gonna do a check anyway just in case I have picked up a bug!

Anyone got any ideas of what could be wrong/what to do?

Thanx


xx Kelly xx
 
S

ss4ya

it could be who you are with that is doing some maintenance, is it a wireless connection and what provider are you with?

we get that sometimes, but its because we are on a wireless connection, the connection drops between the computer and the router, but not the actual line as we have our xbox's on the network too and they are always fine.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,993
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Thanx Stu. We're with Tesco.net, a line connection and have already checked. They haven't got any maintanance going on at the mo.

Hubby's going to disconnect all the wires later, then re-connect to see if it changes anything.
 
S

ss4ya

hmm, that might work, the other thing is maybe your wires coming from teh modem to the computer are a bit dodgy...but they shouldnt be, they just sit there and do nothing really.

the only thing i can think of is that the contention ratio is high and lots of people are on the network at the same time.

i used to work in a broadband helpdesk so i know quite a bit about some of the problems.

if doing the wires thing doesnt work then let me know.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,993
Reaction score
5
Points
0
A speedtouch USB ADSL.

Never gone funny before. Took all the leads out and put them back and it's still the same!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
4,396
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Are you saying that the disconnect when connection may not be needed box in internet options is checked?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
4,396
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Ok well its best to keep it unchecked, does it happen at certain times of day ? or just random times?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,993
Reaction score
5
Points
0
about every 10-15 minutes when I'm on tinternet doing something!

I don't understand though, I haven't changed anything recently.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
4,396
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Did you also install Dr Speedtouch software with the modem? if you did we can see your line stats which will help.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,993
Reaction score
5
Points
0
No, never had other software like that! I'll have a search on net while I can, see if I can download it!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
4,396
Reaction score
0
Points
0
You can get it from the speedtouch website. it is a 330 model isn't it
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,993
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Ta Bev! :) Downloaded the Dr Speedtouch and was then able to check summat else and it's staying on now!

Thanx a million!


:-* :-* :-* :-*
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
4,396
Reaction score
0
Points
0
It's a bit of a hobby of mine, ;D

Glad its ok if it goes again just yell and we'll dig a bit deeper ;D
 
D

DebbieR

You know stuff about pooters eh? hmmm...I always need someone who knows stuff about pooters cos I know nothing ;D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top