• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

My guinea pig is scared of me out of nowhere

Tikiriki

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello! ❤️
It's my first time posting on here but I'm glad we all get to show our love for these little piggies and I'm sorry if sometimes I have bad English, it's not my first language.

At the moment, I got two female guinea pigs, going by the name of Riki and Tiki (left and right from my profile picture) which I love lots. I got them from a pet store (sadly, in my country they're not that common so it's hard to find them in any other place) back in November 2022 at around 2 months old. In the beginning, they were understandably afraid of me and I took my time with them, I sat by their cage without forcing them, I hand fed them every day (and I still do) and over time it got better. When it comes to them, Tiki is more relaxed around me, she lets me pet her and doesn't take the food away from my hand, but instead, she sits down while eating from my hand. Sadly, she doesn't let me pick her up after all this time, but it's okay, I got used to it at this point. I only force her in my arms when I have to cut her butt-hair. :nod: