• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Petrified Guinea Pigs 😢

Naserian.8

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi

I am totally new to guinea pigs. I got 2 beautiful female 9 week old Peruvian guinea pigs on Friday. Poor little things are absolutely petrified they shake with fear sometimes. 😢😢 I sit and stroke them in there cage and talk to them calmly. They are eating which is really good. Is it best to leave them to settle in or hold them on my lap and stroke them calmly so they get use to me.

It’s best to cover their cage with a blanket and leave them alone for a few days/up to a week, doing nothing more than feeding and removing any soiled bedding from their cage. They need to be able to settle into their new environment and with each other

After that, you start slowly by offering them food from your hand and gaining their trust. It needs to be done very slowly and accepting that a lot of piggies are not cuddly creatures, some not liking much human contact and others are fine with if. You need to take it at their pace and at their individual characters - for example, one of mine doesn’t mind a little contact with me, but the other one hates it and doesn’t like to be touched at all.

Hi

I am totally new to guinea pigs. I got 2 beautiful female 9 week old Peruvian guinea pigs on Friday. Poor little things are absolutely petrified they shake with fear sometimes. 😢😢 I sit and stroke them in there cage and talk to them calmly. They are eating which is really good. Is it best to leave them to settle in or hold them on my lap and stroke them calmly so they get use to me.

Hi and welcome

Please take the time to read these guide links here. You may find them very helpful; they contain all the tips that have stood the test of time. You have to work out yourself over time what yours respond to best. Please be aware that it is not a quick process.