• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Should I get my pig a friend?

Aidenozz

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I'm very new to owning guinea pigs and although i asked many questions at the pet store when I purchased my first pig, I have gotten the feeling they were more interested in making a sale then insuring the pig would have a good life. (For example I was told my guinea pig would be fine living in a glass aquarium but as it turns out from just a moment of research it was terrible for his lungs so i transferred him to a cage right away) I've had him for a little over a month now and he is still very frightened of me and anti social, he hides when ever i am near and refuses to eat veggies from my hand, which I understand is normal and have read that it can take months for them to trust you but still is a little discouraging. I know he is a herd animal and needs companionship so i worry he is very lonely and depressed since he won't interact with me. Often times recently I am awoken in the morning by him crying/wheeking, he always has food/hay/water so i can only assume its out of loneliness as i don't know what else he could be asking for but another pig. (I also provide him with fresh veggies/peppers rich with vit c daily so i know he's not deficient, he also has blocks to chew/ricepops which he adores). I feel like I should get another pig to add to his herd so he won't be so lonely but i'm worried i don't have enough space to add a second one. Will he be happier with a friend but more cramped living conditions? (his cage is 30x20 and is all i have room for/can afford at the moment) or should I keep him by himself and just continue to try and give him as much attention as I can?