Some Loan Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toffeewoffee

Senior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
I have never (until now) taken out a loan or credit card, so i am a bit of a novice.

Last week i applied for a loan through Hitachi Finance who i know are a reputable company, low interest rate at 7.9% APR for the amount and term i wanted. However my application was declined, on the letter my surname was spelt wrong by one letter, so i am not sure if this was the reason or maybe its a lack of credit history that has gone against me? I have tried phoning Hitachi and experian who ran a credit check on me and can only get through to robots and told to email which i have done.

Would a spelling error in my surname cause me to be delined?

I am worried to apply again incase i am again declined and end up with a bad credit report despite never having any credit!

Are there any other Loan companies you would recommend, I am only looking to borrow £3000.

Thanks

sharonS

Adult Guinea Pig
Reaction score
This seems to be a very high interest rate, I don't wish to insult you but have you checked out the intenet for offers?
However looking again a moment ago that doesn't seem bad.

Last edited:

Toffeewoffee

Senior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
This is the lowest i have found, the more you borrow the better the rate obviously.

flintstones

Senior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
It might be worthwhile checking your credit file with creditexpert as they can suggest what companies you maybe likely to be accepted by. I don't think the spelling error should cause a decline as it's matched up to your name, date of birth and address. It's likely the fact you've never had credit is going against you unfortunately sometimes having no credit is as bad as having bad credit :-(.

Toffeewoffee

Senior Guinea Pig
Reaction score