Sowing a lawn

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hey, we have quite a large back garden, it was a lot bigger but we had an extension built a few years ago and when the builders came to fix everything back up they kinda buried a lot of rubble under the garden and sowed a lawn on top. So our lawn is really horrible and I wanted to build a run for my boys, but I wanted to sow some nice grass first. So I've decided on an area for them and started to remove the top layer of rubbish grass and soil and am planning on putting new topsoil down and sowing the seed, which I need to get done pretty fast. However, as the soil is full of rubble it's really difficult to dig, and I have very little upper body strength, so I guess what I'm asking is, is there an easier way of doing this? Or perhaps a way of fixing the grass that's already there without all the super hard work?
I've tried looking on the internet, but it's hard to find the info I'm after as I'm not good with the gardening lingo lol
Any help at all would be appreciated x>>

2280CLAIRE

Adult Guinea Pig
Reaction score
I had this trouble when I moved into my flat, it is a victorian building that got split into 7 flats, and they put loads of rubble in the garden area-including mine, when they converted it. The other half helped me dig up alot of the broken bricks and stones etc, and we tried top soil and some grass seed. The grass seed took, and then sort of died and went patchy. So now we've put ALOT of top soil down and put turf down instead. It has taken alot better, but does require daily watering until it really takes properly.