• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Why does he grind his teeth?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to guinea pigs and my new boy George seems to grind his teeth - as if he's eating hay (except he's not) when I am holding him sometimes. I've read about clicking his teeth and listened to a clip of the sound and it doesn't sound like that - so I'm not sure if it's a good thing or a bad one. Any thoughts?
Thanks

Hi,
I'm new to guinea pigs and my new boy George seems to grind his teeth - as if he's eating hay (except he's not) when I am holding him sometimes. I've read about clicking his teeth and listened to a clip of the sound and it doesn't sound like that - so I'm not sure if it's a good thing or a bad one. Any thoughts?
Thanks

I think it means he's either nervous, annoyed or scared. It's not a good thing anyway :)

It depends what you mean by grinding teeth:

If it's quite loud and sometimes accompanied by: strutting (shifting his weight from one side to another so it looks like he's dancing); puffing his mane on the back of his neck or aggressive behaviour then this is chattering. Chattering is a sign of aggression out of fear, territorial dominance, nervousness etc. and is not a good sign. Something is bothering him.

If it is a quite grinding and he's sat quite still and doing very little else then this is actual teeth grinding. Piggies will always keep some food toward the back of their mouths. It's easy for piggies to grind down their front teeth and they have to do this but to get their back teeth ground down, they will keep food in there (usually hay or hard green leaves) and grind down their teeth. They need to do this like all rodents to keep their teeth from getting too long.

Hope this is helpful and I hope this is just grinding and not chattering :)