• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

help! housing dilemas

Status
Not open for further replies.

barnyard

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi I am brand new to this so here goes :) I am looking to buy my first guinea pigs for my children, I have caontacted a local breeder who clearly loves her piggies and has been really helpful with lots of info. However I really struggling with where to keep them. I was thinking inside for winter but I have no idea which indoor cages are best as I dont want to get one that is too small for 2 guinea pigs. Can anyone help/ suggest a good indoor cage, or another option is keep them in a hutch in the garage (not used by cars) but it can be a little on the dark side in their, not a large window ! help :{

Hi and welcome hopefully someone will come along soon i keep mine inside so i know they are nice and warm but i cant help on cage sizes but i think its 5 x 2 for 2 guinea pigs but boys need more space than girls so the biggest you can get. C & cages are fab check out the housing section

Hello and welcome to the forum.

First off well done for getting some info before jumping straight in. The more info you have before you get your piggies the better!

The other thing I will say is that everyone on here is "pro rescue"....have you considered rehoming some needy little piggies from one of the many rescues on here. The piggies will be health checked, pregnancy checked and bonded. If you have any problems with the piggies once you have re homed they will help you and if necessary take them back, if things dont work out.

Whilst not wanting to tarr all breeders with the same brush, there are some threads on here about people getting very sick / and or pregnant piggies from breeders :(