• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

A Little Underweight

Barnyard Boars

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi!

My pigs are a little underweight for what I’d prefer, Harvey is 830g being a fully grown boar, and Milton being 435g at around 3 months. I mean, they aren’t severely underweight, they eat and drink really well, their poops are normal, they look great, I just wish they had a bit more weight to them. If I grabbed one of those small Oxbow bags of alfa Alfa and mixed it in with all their hay would that put some weight on them? I’m still new with piggies so any help would be lovely :wub:

I really wouldn't worry, your 3 month old is a good weight already. Your other lad, how old is he?

I really wouldn't worry, your 3 month old is a good weight already. Your other lad, how old is he?
Yeah I’m not really worried about the little dude, just my big guy. I’d say he’s a bit over a year now, the pet shop never gave me an age as they don’t know but his bits just dropped so I’d say he’s around a year+.

Yeah I’m not really worried about the little dude, just my big guy. I’d say he’s a bit over a year now, the pet shop never gave me an age as they don’t know but his bits just dropped so I’d say he’s around a year+.
How long you had him? They may have got it wrong. When you weigh is he still gaining weight?

How long you had him? They may have got it wrong. When you weigh is he still gaining weight?
He’s slowly losing. Like within the last 8 days he’s lost 30g. I’m weighing him, our scale isn’t the best but it works. But he is eating just fine. I’ve cut out lots of their veg so he’d eat more pellets and hay and he is