• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Advice on bonding please!

Sashaxx

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I would like some advice on bonding my two male pigs.

My pig, Fifi passed on last month and since then I've been trying to find a friend for my remaining pig, Barley.
I managed to find one and they're currently on a 2 week adoption trial at my place after a playdate that was quite mild, with some chasing and buff sniffing from other pig, Tri. I'm completely new to bonding pigs and relied on info from the forum and some research from my own and some advice from the rescue where I adopted Fifi and Barley from.

As I'm writing this, today is the morning of day 3. Admittedly on day 1, they were not immediately put together but first introduced by a fence. I noticed there was a lot of butt sniffing, chasing by Tri and Barley looked so annoyed and he would constantly jump out of annoyance. Tri would also teeth chatter. Out of concern, I decided to seperate them the whole night, and I also cleaned everything with a vinegar water solution, and changed the hideys to one that doesn't have any piggies smell, and fresh bedding. I even wiped down their bowls, water bottles and hay racks with vinegar water.