• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Attached Poop/ Poop Stuck In Bum?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ckvmp14

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first time on this forum. I've been developing some concerns for my guinea in the past few days. Lately her poop has not come out the way it did in the past. Now it is lighter in color and a bit more mushy in a way... I've read that this sort of thing happens to older guineas with their muscles, so it might be that, but I just wanted to get some opinions.

My guinea pig's name is Guinea, she is 7 years old. Truly one of the sweetest animals. I'd hate to see her go through pain. If there is anything I can do, I'll do it.

2h6zxwj.jpg

5efjtj.jpg

This sometimes happens. Take her to the vet, and really push the timothy hay. You may also want to buy some alfalfa hay for your older piggy. Try to keep the veggies coming the best you can, but be careful not to give her broccoli, cauliflower, or any other food that might stop her digestion system from letting the poo out.

Welcome to the forum. What a beautiful girl you have. I would get her checked out by the vet. If her poo is a bit softer than normal, it may be something as simple as she has had too much watery veg recently. I would avoid giving her things like cucumber for the while and keep giving her plenty of hay. The vet will confirm what treatment is best.

Hi and welcome!

Sows don't suffer from impaction like boars, but older piggies are more prone to digestive issue; pain can also impact on the digestive system. Their digestion can slow down or have other problems, though, which is what the changing colour and consistency of the poos is suggesting.