C&C cages

Mye_B

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Had a good look through this thread, some fab c&c set ups! I’m new to all this. Looking to order some grids from Amazon. Just wondered generally what people use for bases? My boys were in a cage together until recently so that had a base. Have had to move some stuff around as don’t have a lot of space where they currently are (we have enough space currently for 2x4) and hubby doesn’t want them in the living room, which is fair enough as we also have a 3yo whose stuff takes up a lot of space! In the cage I layered with cardboard and had sawdust on top. I’m considering using the fleece liners but concerned that might involve a lot of washing as they wee pretty much throughout the cage, although I’ve noticed they’ve peed more in specific places.

Also, I’ll need to put a grid down the middle so the boys are kept apart. Is this relatively easy enough to do? I’ve been doing a lot of research but it’s pretty overwhelming when you’re new to owning piggies. Thanks.
M

Siikibam

Forum Donator 2020/21
Reaction score
In terms of size, singles really need 2x4 at minimum. A split 2x4 (2x2) is not enough space for them each. It’s easy to split the cage, just cable tie some grids in the middle with connectors for added stability. Is there anywhere else you could keep them that has more room? Could you perhaps jig things round so your child’s things are where the cage currently is?

As for the base, you can buy 4mm correx on eBay or in sign shops. Or you can buy proplex from wickes. It’s 2mm but I have that in my boys’ cage. It’s been in there about 2 years or so and is still okay if a little chewed in some places.

When you say sawdust do you mean woodshavings? Bedding depends on what works for you. I started with shavings, then fleece. Didn’t get on with it so went back to shavings again. Then aubiose which I absolutely loved, but reacted to. Then back to fleece which I use now as well as bath maths.

Piggies&buns