Claw clipping a piggy that hates being touched...help!

TeganTalia

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Newbie here....we adopted 2 lovely girls from a rescue home last month about a year old. Tegan is happy to be touched and picked up and doesn't mind having her claws clipped too much. Talia however is the total opposite! Firstly she is a nightmare to catch. Secondly this was my 3rd clip today. The first time was very traumatic and didn't manage to do all of them. The second time was better but again only managed a couple of claws. Today was awful I managed one claw. I've watched you tube videos over and over. She has worked out that we were trying to bribe her with carrot and refused it. Will try again on Sunday- deep clean day!
Tips I have picked up:
Wrap her in something ie t shirt (I've yet to try) I've just been using a pillow case but she wriggles that much!
Use human toe nail scissors
Distract with food
Let them have floor time on concrete (I've ordered a run from P@H pick up Sunday)
Read somewhere on here about rocks/stones in the cage? Yet to try.

Any other tips would be greatly appreciated and apologise that this has probably been asked a million times before 🙈

When we first adopted them I took them to the vet and asked them to clip claws and they only needed the back ones trimming. I would like to avoid doing this though as it would be more traumatic for her.
Would like to add both have black claws apart from 1 front paw on Talia.

Thank you everyone ❤

Piggies&buns

Forum Donator 2020/21
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum
Nail clipping is often something which takes practice, patience, bribery and many attempts!
One of my boys is ok to clip, the other one not so much!