• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here
  • Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Crusty Eyes: Eye Issue.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rcampbell1992

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello Everyone. I have a new piggie, I just brought him home last night. I have never owned a piggie before, so I am completely new to this. His eyes were fine last night, but today his eye seems to look " sticky" and it's partly closed. My question is, can piggies get sleep boogers ( for a lack of a better term ). He did just wake up, and he is currently munching on hay, and has been drinking. He is pretty active, and has been making noises. Do I need to be alarmed? It seems to be slowly opening up on it's own
Any help is appreciated.

Hi and welcome!

Please have your boy seen by a vet as soon as you can! He has got a respiratory infection (URI), which can kill if left untreated. URIs are sadly very common in young shop guinea pigs whose immune system is not fully developed yet and additionally lowered by the major upsets to their still young lives.