• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Dominance? Bonding? Fighting?

Sportegal2

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I need help. I am new to the guinea world. I will tell you that I researched and read like crazy, but I know that is nothing in comparison to having actual experience with piggies. I just adopted 2 new Guinea pigs that are skinny pigs (for my kids but cared for and supervised by me) and both are boys. One is 7 weeks old and the other is 11 weeks old. We have had them for about 3 weeks. The first 2 weeks were uneventful, they seemed to be really fitting into our family, were great with my kiddos (who are 7 and 9). The kids hold them at their chest and they seem to like it. Then we went on vacation for 6 days and my neighbor who did a great job watching them let me know that it looked like they but each other on each others cheeks this past Thursday. (I checkered and she said they had enough food and water each day when she would check on them 3-4 times each day). We have been home since Friday morning and we had another instance overnight that looked like bites (no gouges, just pin needles) on the 11 week olds butt. So all this time I have been doing some research and I have cleaned their cage again, made sure they have had an ample amount of food and water, and then last night I finally decided to put a separater in their cage over night and then took that out in the morning so they could be together while we were home. It was all good till this evening when the 7 week old had another mark on his cheek, so now I have them separated again. I have never witnessed any aggression that I know of (only a little purring, but no teeth chattering or lunging) just climbing over one another and a little butt nudging, etc. What do I do? I have not slept as I do not want any harm to come to either and am reaching at straws...all I have done is read and watched videos all day. I