• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Female Guinea Pigs Chasing Each Other

guineapigloveee

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I'm new to owning guinea pigs so I don't have much idea on what their behaviours mean so I would appreciate a little guidance! My female guinea pigs are absolutely fine in the day, they cuddle and follow each other about and share food ect but when it gets to night time they start madly chasing each other and growling at one an other. they have been absolutey fine since i got them it's only really been recently that it's started to happen. Could it maybe be that I have to get them a bigger cage as they're growing up or is it just their personalities coming out? They're not attacking each other they just madly chase each other round the cage so it's not dangerous at the moment it's just quite annoying having to listen to them bang into the cage for about an hour! and i don't like to think of them as unhappy guineas. any suggestions?

What sort of cage do they have? What size is it?

It sounds a bit small, but would depend on how many piggies are in it, there is a sticky thread in a the housing forum about cage size but I'm not sure how to put the link @sport_billy @furryfriends (TEAS)

Yeah I second that, pets are home unfortunately aren't too great when it comes to piggy knowledge. Something I found out for myself after buying a hutch they suggested that turned out to be too small. :(

Like @Gem789 said, the cage is a bit smaller than the recommended minimum size for 2 sows. Have you ever looked into C and C cages? You can set them to any shape and size, and they usually work out cheaper than the pet store ones.