• You can find lots of information on how to settle in, understand your new guinea pigs in our New Owners Guide Collection but please ask any questions you have in Wannabe and New Owners' section.

Fleece

Emma72

Junior Guinea Pig
Just a quick question my piggie has been poorly with nasally problems and is on medication I’m new to keeping piggies, but I have looked at all your posts and decided to take away the wood shavings and buy a less dusty hay so now we are using fleece puppy pads and towels they seem to love it 😍 and little piggies chest is Getting better. I used to fill the hidey where they slept with hay and the used to constantly sit in there munching away the vet listed a few things that could be wrong two of which were hay up the nostril or an allergy hence taking away the shavings Etc, my question is do you owners using fleece just have extra fleece in the hideys or have hay too. .? I’m not keen on using the hay in there after her chest being bad, but I’m worried it won’t eat the hay from the rack and bowl I have put it in, thanks

fanniephina

Junior Guinea Pig
Hi Emma, Hideys can be poorly ventilated and it's not recommended to have anything around nor inside of them. I use pee pads made of fleece squares under the hideys and keep the hay in either the kitchen area or the lofts so as to make certain it's fairly fresh. Most guinea pigs will roll in hay or even take a little hay shower and it doesn't hurt them but it will possibly be more difficult if under any kind of shelter area.

You definitely don't need a rack and can easily put a large pile of hay in a corner or open area in a few spots around the cage. Believe me, they will find the hay! I do have a kitchen area separate in a sort of litter area for their food and a water bottle (with a few others around the cage) made of soft bedding. I only use a little bit for weeks as it's not the most used area so the cost isn't so bad in the long run.