• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Fussy Pigs!

ThatWelshOne

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to guinea pig ownership, ended up with my girls after someone was saying they didn't want their pigs anymore and I couldn't stand the thought of them going to a home where they wouldn't be loved or cared for. So I will admit it was a rushed decision and not one which was well researched!

Anyway, they now have a lovely piggie palace and they're well settled and friendly but my main concern now is their diet. When I first got them I did some skim reading and was feeding them a diet high in kale and spinach for about two months (I know how wrong I was and have corrected this now!) However they're fussy little piglets. I have introduced spring greens into their diet this week and let me tell you, they are not impressed! They rush to their food bowl and then just stare at it and then at me as if to say 'wheres the good stuff mum?' they do eat it after a while once they realise the kale diet is no more!

I'm after a bit of reassurance really, I've read the pinned posts about good food to feed. Their veggie diet this week has been mainly spring greens, green pepper and round/butterhead lettuce leaves (again I've read conflicting thing about this, I never feed iceberg!) Any tips on what else they can have daily to keep it interesting and nutritious for them? And anything that's best to stop feeding? They get occasional treats of parsley because they are real parsley hogs but that's twice weekly tops and it's only a few sprigs to garnish their meal ha.

Thanks in advance!

I would advise different coloured pepper each day - high in vit c and each one tastes different. Cucumber can be feed daily too and most pigs enjoy it. Coriander also. Little gem lettuce tends to be well loved also