Help! Vibrating When Being Held?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tamara Harvey

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi I was wondering if stone could help me, I'm new to guinea pigs and am still getting used to their sounds. I was wondering if anyone could explain this to me, I never chase my guinea pig around the cage to pick it up, I always wait till he allows my hand to smooth him and then pick him up so he doesn't feel like he's being attacked, he's fine on my lap cwtching for about 10 minutes and then when I feed him treats or food he starts vibrating and making squeeking sounds which sounds like the whining noise to me but he seems calm sat on my lap eating food, then he'll cwtch but make those noises and vibrate for about 10 mins after that, then he attempts to like try hide in my clothes or my arm. Was just wondering if someone could explain what this behaviour means please. Thanks.

Hello and welcome to the forum. If i'm not mistaken it sounds like your piggy is enjoying his lap time. They sound like happy noises, chatting away to himself and to you :)

Hi and welcome!

Generally, your boy sounds very happy. Some piggies will purr similar to cats; it is an intermittent soft vibrating/rumble. A sharp, short rumble signals disppleasure.

Please try to learn to read his sign for when he's had enough or needs to go to the toilet. Some piggies wiggle, others will pull clothing or tweak your skin.

What kinds of treats are you giving him and is he an only piggy or has he got company of his own kind?

With members from all over the world, it would also help us in always giving you the best advice for where you are straight away if you please added your country, state or (for the UK) your county to your details. click on your username on the top bar, then go to personal details and scroll down to location. Thanks!

Hi and welcome!