• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Maternal agression and reuniting sows after the birth

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cyberjez

I am new to Guinea pigs but have a lot of experience of agricultural animal husbandry but I have a query regarding my two sows that are sisters and were housed together through out their pregnancies but when the the more dominent of the two (Squeak) was a couple of days from having her babies, Bubble (the less dominent) was pushed out of the sleeping area as Squeak was nesting. Because Bubble was very close to giving birth too I decided to move her temporarily into a spare hutch so she and Squeak could have a seperate sleeping/nesting area so they could concentrate on their youngsters. Bubble delivered a week after Squeak and now both have two fit baby pigs and all was well.

I was concerned that they should all be reintroduced as quickly as possible in order to avoid rejection but I have tried to put them together and Squeek gave Bubble a proper beating so I have seperated them again for now.

Several question are in my mind:

When and how should I try to reunite Bubble with Squeak?

When should I seperate the male baby pigs to avoid more pregnancies / safe weaning age?

Can males be castrated or must they be seperated?

I would like to keep a male from each litter and then reunite Bubble & Squeak so I can house two pigs per hutch for the long term but I would like them to share an outdoor run. If the males and females need to be seperated that's fine but it would be nice if they could all be run together.

If I cannot reunite Bubble and Sqeak - I need to rethink my housing etc so any assistance would be very much appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Jez

Hi There

Welcome to The Guinea Pig Forum.

Cyberjez said:
When and how should I try to reunite Bubble with Squeak?