• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here
  • Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Mystery Problem With My Guinea Pigs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrenr

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to using this so I'm not sure on where to e posting but I'm assuming I'm in the right topic!

I got two piggies for my birthday - September 2014, up until late December they've been absolutely fine, no problems whatsoever. Just over two weeks ago we realised they weren't eating properly, just picking at their pellets every now and then, but they were eating weird too, asif they had no teeth! They haven't really took a fancy to their hay either, which is bad...they always don't seem to be walking properly, it's as if they hop rather than scatter.

We took them to the vets last Saturday / January 10th and the vet wasn't sure on what the problem was either, she said it was a mystery.. Everything else was fine. No problems appearance wise, she sent us home with some metacam and a sachet of critical care, they've been having 0.1ml of metacam every evening since the 10th, and a little bit of critical care aswell as pellets and a different fruit/vegetable alongside, nothing has changed with them..still exactly the same problem, still barely eating and walking weird, a couple hours ago when I gave them their medicine I noticed one of them had a wet chin which went down to his chest, but the other one is fine. I've wiped the wetness with warm water and it seemed to turn the cloth a browny/green sort of colour, not sure what it is :S