Neuter or live on his own?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi,
This is my first time on a forum but also the first time that I have had a problem regarding my guinea pigs. I really need some advice as to what to do for the best.
I've had a pair of male guinea pigs for two years. They were six months old when I had them. They have been perfectly happy together in that time but a week ago today, Squeak stopped eating. After three visits to the vets, antibiotics and hand feeding, he lost the fight and died on Thursday morning.

Bubble has been eating but as they are in the house with us, can't help but notice how quiet he is, no happy chitter chatter that I used to hear, or high pitched squeals when the kale is coming!

I took Bubble to a local rescue centre and he was put in with a 5 month old male who was quiet and shy. As out of Bubble and Squeak, Bubble was the more dominant male. The outcome was what can I say "Make love not war". There wasn't any fighting but Bubble repeatedly attempted to mate and show his dominance over the youngster. It was decided that their friendship wouldn't lead to a happy life together.

So, do I risk having my Bubble neutered and then pair him up with a girlie, or shower him with as much attention as I can give and leave him live alone.
What would be the better life for him?

clairelove

Adult Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Humping is very normal in male-male pairings as long as there is no teeth chattering then its fine, normally the humping settles after a day or 2,

neutering is also a good idea my boars are neutered and each live with their own females.

It wouldnt be fair to keep him on his own.

pop a teddy in with him until you can sort out either a younger male aged 4-11wks old, or get him neutered then wait 6 weeks before pairing him with a sow, there is many rescues on here from your area that do boar dating, and they will find a suittable boar pairing for him x

Reaction score