• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Poorly Piggy ( ? Cystitis).

Nursyvet

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to the forum so please be kind.
I have a ? 2 year old piggy who started 2 weeks ago with bloody urine and weight loss.
I am a vet nurse so taken him to work. Vet started him on Baytril 2.5% 0.2ml once daily and dog Metacam 0.4ml once daily.
All ok, seemed ok. Then the following Saturday ( 9 days after starting meds), more blood and lost more weight despite lots of extra care and extra feeding.
Back to work, upped dose of Baytril to 0.8ml once daily.
Started syringe feeding critical care and Fiberplex and Bio lapis too. Also, xrayed and ultrasounded abdomen, no stones seen.
Then yesterday, started with soft, mushy poos.
Taken him to work again today and vet suggested to stop baytril to give his tummy a rest.
He seems to be bright but picky with food. Not eating much hay, I am still supplementing him to give extra support.
Any other ideas?
Thanks in advance:)

Bradshaw Piggies

Adult Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hello and welcome!
So sorry to hear your lovely piggie has had some issues.
Have the urinary tract issues cleared up now?
The antibiotics have mostly likely upset the gut bacteria and you’re doing right with the syringe feeding and fibreplex. Are you familiar with feeding poop soups? There is a guide on here. I have found them most useful when supporting a pig with digestive upset.
If he isn’t eating much, the teeth will also grow quickly so it may be he needs a dental investigation - particularly if he’s still being fussy.