running out of cage

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dawn

hi I'm new to piggies and i was wondering why frank does this , when i open there hutch they are always in there bed bit so i open the door herbert sits for a minute and i pick him up or he runs into the other bit but frank well he zooms either straight at the door ,which scares me to death and is sooooo dangerous as ive had to cathch him a couple of times or he takes a run from the other bit right at me why does he do this regards dawn

G

gothchick1515

Hi, is your guinea in a hutch, my rudi did that oftern maybe he cant wait to be let out or cuddled Rudi was in the hutch for only a few months but my rabbits are there all year round and they DEFINATLY do that so i think its a 'let me out i wanna run' thing Zubin my current pig doesnt he wont leave his pigloo hes a scaredy cat lol x

squeakypigs

Forum Founder
Reaction score
Guinea pigs tend to do this for the first couple of weeks/month of having them. This is just because they are nervous.

I have some guinea pigs which are still quite nervous and run away when I open the hutch door however the 5 girls I have in a hutch come running over to the door and are standing up the door when trying to open it.

Spend as much time as possible with your guinea pig so they learn to trust you and they will soon start to be more forward about coming out to see you. When getting your guinea pigs out the cage give them little treats which will help make them more tame.

It could take a long time for your guinea pigs to be very tame but it is worth it when you see them come running over to the door when they see you.

Kate (starshine) guinea pigs are the tamest guinea pigs I have ever seen. They are incredibly friendly and run over to the bars when you go over to them :)

D

Dawn

thanks i was just worried cause its dangerous he runs so fast cheers dawn

squeakypigs

Forum Founder
Reaction score