Waterproof liner or not?

TwoKidsTwoPigs

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi, I am wanting to get fleece liners for my guinea pigs, but am unsure whether to get the with a waterproof base or not. I am very new to this and despite googling and reading A LOT, I'm still not sure which to go for. Can anyone advise what is best? My cage is a 120l cage with a plastic base. If I get a fleece liner without waterproof base, do I need to put anything under the fleece? How often do people wash theirs? I've read 3 days on some sites and 5 days on others. Thank you in anticipation!

Siikibam

Forum Donator 2020/21
Reaction score
You need something underneath the fleece to absorb the wee. It’s up to you whether you get one with a waterproof base or buy fleece and use something underneath.

I can usually stretch my liners to 7 days because I use bath mats on top. Otherwise it’s roughly every 5 days. It depends how wet or dirty it gets.

BoredBellaaa

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi, I am wanting to get fleece liners for my guinea pigs, but am unsure whether to get the with a waterproof base or not. I am very new to this and despite googling and reading A LOT, I'm still not sure which to go for. Can anyone advise what is best? My cage is a 120l cage with a plastic base. If I get a fleece liner without waterproof base, do I need to put anything under the fleece? How often do people wash theirs? I've read 3 days on some sites and 5 days on others. Thank you in anticipation!
Hi! I wash my fleece every 3 days, I think it just really depends how much you spot clean, how many pigs you have, whether you have boars or sows. I’d recommend a waterproof fleece, they are EXTREMELY helpful and reduce smell and urine/water leakage. If you decide to go with a regular liner, I’d put an old towel under it, it’s optional, but it helps! Hope this advice helped a bit! :))

anyar.dris

Forum Donator 2020/21
Reaction score