• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Weird Spots on Guinea Pig

ChaseW

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hey Guys I just joined and I'm nervous because about 1-2 weeks ago my guinea pig has some weird spots on his face and above his eye. I couldn't find what this was so I joined this hoping maybe one of you guys had an idea. I just got my guinea pig about a month ago and I've never had a guinea pig before so I am not experienced at all. Thank you for taking the time to read this and thank you in advance if you reply :)

Here are pictures of the weird spot. If you know what it is please tell me because I'm worried about the little guy.

Attachments

• IMG_1892.webp
    IMG_1892.webp
    28.7 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_1893.webp
    IMG_1893.webp
    60.2 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_1894.webp
    IMG_1894.webp
    59.2 KB · Views: 17
Hello
And welcome. I can see a bald spot around his eye, is that what you’re referring you?

It could be fungal such as ringworm so it is wise to take him to the vet for correct treatment

This looks like the start of ringworm. You can treat at home using canesten athletes foot cream, with the active ingredient clotrimazole. If symptoms get worse or do not improve you will need to consult a vet for treatment.
Wear gloves while treating your pig as it is contagious to humans.

Hopefully you have caught it quickly enough not to spread much more. You should be able to present the vets bill along with the receipt for your guinea pig to the shop where you got him from as exposure will have happened there. If they are a decent pet shop they will refund the cost of your vet bill.