• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

Why does my guinea pig chatter his teeth at me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marlon The Guinea Pig

New Born Pup
Reaction score
This is my first time posting here but I've had my guinea pig for about 7 months and he is around 9 months olds. I did loads of research before getting a guinea pig and read the guineapiglopaedia over and over. Almost every time I hold my guinea pig he chatters his teeth at me for no apparent reason. I know he is warning me to back off so I put him down but then he just climbs back up my arms or even hurls himself off tables to get back to me (so far I've managed to catch him-he can jump suprisingly far). I'm confused. If he doesn't want me to leave him alone then why does he chatter his teeth at me? He even chatters at me when I'm not petting him and he is just sitting on my chest as well as when I DO pet him. I've noticed that he does chatter his teeth if I listen to music/switch on the tv or even when I or someone else is talking! So I usually try to keep very quiet when I'm holding him. But even when there is NO noise he often starts chattering. I just don't know why he does it. I've tried everything. The towel trick didn't help and he is definitely used to me because I spend up to 3 hours a day with him because he doesn't have another pig to talk to (the breeder I got him from told me he doesn't get along with other males). I feed him lots of different fruit/veg, lots of pellets and hay, take him outside for ages so he can eat grass and get exercise and he has a big cage. I don't see what I'm doing wrong! What can I do to make him stop chattering at me? I love him so much and it makes me really sad when he chatters at me. Has anyone else experienced this with a guinea pig?

Last edited: