• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

My Piggy has Diarrhea!

winters.piggylover649

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi everyone! It’s about 12AM where I am currently, and I noticed that my piggy had a serious case of diarrhea. She cannot seem to move around as quickly as she usually can, and you can totally tell that she is not herself. I feed them both carrots as of now with plenty of hay and water. The diarrhea was pretty smelly and dark. I am worried because I don’t want anything bad to happen to her as I am just an amateur piggy owner. Her cage mate is totally fine, and is on the same diet as her. I check google for answers, but just end up psyching myself out more! Please someone help me out(: Thank you so much!

Piggies&buns

Forum Donator 2020/21
Reaction score
Please see a vet ASAP. Severe diarrhoea is considered an emergency.
Please stop giving any vegetables during an episode of being unwell, it will make things worse. Feed only hay and step in with syringe feeding a recovery feed or mushed up pellets. Weigh her daily so you can ensure she is getting enough hay and recovery food to maintain her weight.
Please don’t reintroduce vegetables again until she is well again - veg will contribute to an imbalance of the gut and at the moment getting plenty of fibre is important to settle things down.
The green links below explain further

Emergency, Crisis and Bridging Care until a Vet Appointment
Digestive Disorders: Diarrhea - Bloat - GI Stasis (No Gut Movement) And Not Eating
Not Eating, Weight Loss And The Importance Of Syringe Feeding Fibre
Complete Syringe Feeding Guide
Weight - Monitoring and Management