• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here
  • Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Guinea pig drinking a bottle of water a day..

Jenilouhoo

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
My 1+ year old adopted piggie is drinking a lot of water lately. I noticed it a few weeks ago I guess and it's been so crazy, I haven't been able to give it that much attention. I'm a sped teacher, so I've been crazy working from home trying to figure out how to serve my students virtually. Anyway, I'm noticing that he's drinking a whole bottle or more in a day. At first I thought his bottle must be defective and leaking so I ordered a couple new ones from Amazon, but those were quickly empty too. I knew then that his drinking habits were actually changing.
My other pig isn't drinking any more (he's in a separate cage) and I don't notice any weight drop. I lost an older dog some years ago to undiagnosed diabetes and it was heartbreaking. I'm home with all my animals and I'll take him to the vet if I need to, but obviously like a lot of us, times are scary and cash is tight. From what I've read, if it's diabetes type 2, could I not cut out the sugary treats and romaine lettuce and just stick to hay to try and reduce his blood sugar and drop his insulin?