• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here

One Social Piggy, And A Nervous One

SilverC

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the guinea pig world, and only got my piggies this weekend.

They're two boars, called Copper and Butterbean (Butters for short), and they're new both to us and to each other - so a big change for everyone. Copper had another cage mate who unfortunately passed away, and Butters was in a cage with 3 other guinea pigs.

It's day 4, and Copper seems to deal surprisingly well with being here with us. Both yesterday and today after we handled them, he's zoomed around the cage and jumped up seeming happy. On my partner's lap today he was making happy sounds and eating a carrot quiet relaxed.

Our second piggie Butters doesn't seem as happy. He's shyer, and maybe more clever and not as trusting as Copper? He doesn't relax when he's sat with us. Today he at least started moving around on my lap rather than just sitting still really scared :/.

I wanted to ask for your advice with Butters. Do we continue handling him every evening like we do with Copper or do we give him a few days to relax without our scary hands? It doesn't feel like the right approach to not keep handling him either, but I don't want him to be petrified.

We've also noticed that he seems to get agitated in the cage when Copper zooms about, but I don't think we can intervene there... I think Butters will be the dominant one of the two.

Any advice is welcome! I reckon these two have very different personalities...

Thanks!

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the guinea pig world, and only got my piggies this weekend.

They're two boars, called Copper and Butterbean (Butters for short), and they're new both to us and to each other - so a big change for everyone. Copper had another cage mate who unfortunately passed away, and Butters was in a cage with 3 other guinea pigs.