• PLEASE NOTE - the TEAS facebook page has been hacked, take extreme care when visiting the page, for further information visit here
  • Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Advice for mites

CavyCanadienMom

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I have 2 boars and they just had their third and fourth round of revolution. This is my first time dealing with mites, vet is treating them for mites for now because all their signs point to that. Skin scrapping might be in future which I don’t want for them. I’m wanting advice on should I bath them and any other tips to help get this under control. For the bathing it’s been 72hrs since the treatment of revolution and I have neem oil shampoo from gorgeous guinea. Is a good bath going to help clear up the mites and the eggs? I’ll freely admit this is my first mite experience with guineas and I messed up with not cleaning cage as good first 2 rounds of treatment. But for the past 4 weeks I removed all toys, plastic igloos and food dish got a hot water an vinegar scrub. Every 4 days I’ve cleared out and wiped every surface down with hot water and vinegar and for the last 2 weeks have done a extra wipe with a little neem oil added. I’ve even replaced the corrugated plastic on their favorited sleeping levels. I’ve scrubbed and replaced ramps and their carpets. I use fleece and every 4 days liners (which I just sewed new ones 3weeks ago) an anything else fleece in the cage gets sanitation wash with vinegar, little bleach and borax. I change their pee pads and fav bedding areas, along with emptying and cleaning their kitchens every day. Sorry it’s a long one but I’m at a loss on what else I can do to help them, from what I’ve read 3 to 4 treatments don’t s